A quirky sight

kites

When you travel for pleasure it is usually because you want to see something different: different people, different sights. So it is for me. It is delightful when I see something which I have not seen before.

On our first walk through Beijing we saw the wonderful sight of a line of kites flying together. That’s not something we are used to in India: where kites are flown as a competitive sport. Each person who flies kites tries to cut down others. A long time ago, when I was a school boy, I would spend hours planning the mixture of glue and finely ground glass which would be coated on kite strings to enable them to cut others. The sight of a line of kites floating serenely above us was a quirky sight, which brought smiles to our faces.

We followed the line down with our eyes, and found that it was an advertisement attached to a little food stall! What a lovely idea, we said to each other. China invented kites after all, it stands to reason that they would have had centuries to think of uses for them.

The Family said, “Would they know that we have a kite festival day in India?” I don’t know. Perhaps that thought could bring a smile to Chinese faces.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

Leave a Reply

