An ancient liquor museum

liquormuseum

We walked through several hutongs north of the bell tower of Beijing. Traversing several, we came across this quirky sight: a museum of ancient liquor! Not something that you will find in any guide book. It was dinner time, and the place was closed. But you should mark it in your list of things not to be missed when you come around here.

If you visit, please leave a comment on this page telling me how it was. I guess I will not have the time on this trip to go back to check. Such is life!

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

2 thoughts on “An ancient liquor museum”

  1. I have just got back from a trip to China and I visited this same Hutong, I recognized the bottles in the wall. I have to say it was one of my favorite places. We loved wandering around the streets after our rickshaw ride. There were lots of abandoned bikes, people playing games or just hanging out. A few cute shops selling local art and a couple of groovy cafe/ bars. I took some really great photos there. It is a shame to think these places will be torn down.

    Like

    1. Yes, it looked like a very friendly and safe neighbourhood. I didn’t notice the art, either the shops came up later, or they had shut for the day when I did my walk. The real China, the one behind the neon and glitter, is so charming.

      Like

Leave a Reply

