The patient turtle

2015-05-31 12.23.53

As I walked around the 798 art district in Beijing, I paused at a piece which seemed to be a sculpture. A nice large porcelain bowl filled with water with two very realistic turtles in it. But then one of them turned its head and I realized that what I had taken to be merely realistic was actually real.

This was not sculpture but culture. I had spent enough time in China to get the nuances. A bowl of water placed at the entrance to the establishment is Fengshui, and the supernatural power of the turtle is meant to bring good fortune.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

3 thoughts on “The patient turtle”

Leave a Reply

