Re-entry blues

The Family laughs at me as we scan the menu in a fish restaurant in Mumbai. I said "This is expensive, nothing costs less than 90 RMB". We are still talking about China as we tuck into the Bombay Duck, the squid and the Rawas. Every table around us has a few foreign businessmen: a contingent from Japan to the left, some Germans to our right, mixed in with Indian hosts.

We came to eat shark, but they don’t have it today. The Lotus decides that we stay. I have eaten everything on the menu a hundred times, but I know that the Family has never eaten mussels here. I order a plate. The flesh is hard to extract with fork and knife; chopsticks would have been useful. I use my hands. The spices and coconuts are specific to the Konkan coast. Home feels different after more than a month in China.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

Leave a Reply

