A disappointing art space

missdior

I first came across contemporary Chinese art in an exhibition at the Luxembourg Garden in Paris many years ago. The sculptures and images were riveting: not at all the classical brushwork that I’d known before. So I was very keen to visit the Factory 798 art zone in Beijing.

It was a little disappointing. It is huge, and there are striking works which you come across (I’ve blogged about some of these here), but the place as a whole is a strip mall for the arts and fashion. An example of the gentrification was the exhibition called "Miss Dior" a publicity event by Dior in a space called the Ullens Center for Contemporary Arts. The photo above is of the centerpiece: a kitschy installation made with Miss Dior bottles.

I’m sure that by now young new artists have found a cheaper place to work in.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

Leave a Reply

