Assam Tees

On the road outside Guwahati

The plains of Assam are amazing in various ways. Among the outliers are unexpected T-shirts. The example above came when we came to a temporary halt on the highway. A little pan-shop next to the tea stall was manned by this person with his striking shirt. If I had let my expectations be guided by the strikingly transnational merchandise on display, then the shirt would fit right in, and I would be fascinated instead by the pan he is putting together. Take your pick. This guy is sure of what he’s doing, and was happy enough to have his photo taken.

assamtshirtb

A couple of days later, at the border post between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh, I saw this other person in a striking tee. Not wanting to intrude on the conversation, I took the long shot which you see above. The dyed hair and the shirt together gives the impression of a person who has put some thought into his appearance. So it makes me wonder. Are these tees an expression of a subculture?

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

Leave a Reply

