Magical mystery food

Tonktsu in a platter from Icedeas

The plate you see above arrived at the table where The Family and I eagerly waited. The fried smell of tonkatsu wafted off the plate. Although I’m a fan of most Japanese food, I don’t usually have tonkatsu. The deep-fried pork cutlet served with shredded cabbage is something I can often get in other countries. But here, I’d gone into a shop and after some discussion with The Family, chosen this over a steak.

An in-flight magazine introduced me to the work of chef Prima Chakrabandhu Na Ayudhya. I read this with great interest, and then showed it to The Family. I noted that she has an outlet in the Bangkok Art and Culture Center (BACC) which was on my list of things to do in our short stay in Bangkok. Once there, we took the escalators up to the fourth floor eatery called Icedeas.

Icrecream platter from Icedeas

Yes, as you can see from the photo above, it was an ice-cream. The Japanese melon flavoured slices were covered with fried bread to fool your nose as well as your eye. The shredded cabbage was a mint candy. The soya sauce is chocolate. Icedeas loves to play with the presentation. My niece took a look at my photos and said "It looks savoury. How confusing." We loved the confusion. We would have loved it even more if it had come as a surprise at the end of a good meal.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

1 thought on “Magical mystery food”

Leave a Reply

