The most famous structure in Andaman

Entrance to the cellular jail in Port Blair

Every Indian child’s first encounter with the Andaman Islands comes through stories of the infamous British jail where freedom fighters were incarcerated. We had packed our days so full of things to do that it was only in the evening of our last day in Port Blair that we managed to find time for the Cellular Jail.

There was a sound and light show which starts at 7:30 in the evening. When we arrived in time to queue up for it, the first thing that struck me was how small it was. Through the rest of the day we had wandered around the outskirts of Port Blair bumping into grand structures built by slave labour from this jail, but the famous jail was surprisingly small.

Unfortunately, I never managed to take a good look at the inside of the structure. As I went in I brushed against an exposed nail which gave me a long and deep gash along my calf. If you ever need medical attention in Port Blair remember that the hospital is just behind the cellular jail. The out-patient department is efficient and clean. Perhaps on our next trip to Port Blair we will get to see the Cellular Jail.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

One thought on “The most famous structure in Andaman”

Leave a Reply

