Wildly boaring

Wild boars feeding in Ranthambore

Wild boars are fairly common, so it was strange that I had no photos of these animals at all. I’ve always seen them on the run in wildlife sanctuaries; perfectly understandable behaviour from an animal that is a common prey of the leopards and tigers which are the top predators in these places. This weekend in Ranthambore national park I came across a sounder of boars placidly feeding in a meadow. They kept an eye on us, but did not stop eating. I got plenty of time to photograph these wonderfully social animals.

One of a family of wild boars in Ranthambore

The particular individuals that you see in these photos are of the subspecies called Sus scrofa cristatus (India harbours yet another subspecies). They are omnivores, and have been photographed feeding not only on roots (as here), but also on carrion. This sounder had no tiny squeakers, which probably means either that the mating season is on, or that it is not yet four months past. Since there was no tusked male in sight, I guess the mating season could have finished. As I took photos I wondered about the ease with which these wild animals treated us. This was so different from what I’ve seen before.

Author: I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

Leave a Reply

