Anti-photography

To collect photographs is to collect the world.

Susan Sontag (On Photography)

When I got back from Kazakhstan with a bad back and realized that I had to travel immediately to the west coast of the US, there were some hard decisions to make. The doctor’s advise was not to lift more than five kilos. I decided that two bags of five kilos each should be okay, if I didn’t lift both at the same time. Even that relaxed limit did not allow me to carry any photographic gear or binoculars (and this is a great time for birding around the San Francisco bay). The travel office had booked me a ticket which gave me time for a bit of birding before my meeting. Some years ago I’d got myself a pair of spectacles meant for long distance vision, and that came in handy.

A way of certifying experience, taking photographs is also a way of refusing it — by limiting experience to a search for the photogenic, by converting experience into an image, a souvenir.

Susan Sontag (On Photography)

Not long back I began to read Susan Sontag’s book called “On Photography” and thought that behind the polemics and hyperbole there might be a point to what she wrote. Since I had decided not to take my camera on this trip, I thought I might try to experience the Bay Area in a pre-photographic manner. My bucket list now lives as pins on a map with a few words about the place. Whenever I read about some place interesting I mark it with a “Want to go” pin. When I visit a place the pin either disappears or becomes a “favourite” or a “starred place”. There’s so much I’ve read about the bay area that it was dotted with pins. I decided to spend one evening dawdling in the Mission district. It was good to look at street art, walk into lively bars, and eat at a restaurant with interesting music without bothering to record it. If you are into any of these things you might want to visit.

Recently, photography has almost become as widely practiced an amusement as sex or dancing — which means that, like every mass art form, photography is not practiced by most people as an art.

Susan Sontag (On Photography)

I did eventually did take a few photos with my phone. On the last evening after the meeting, I went with everyone for dinner to a nice Chinese eatery on a little spit of land in Emeryville. The view across the bay was calm, and the fog had lifted for the first time in the week. I took up my phone and clicked a few photos without moving from my seat. The AI assistant in my phone camera was on. Now when I look at the photos that you see here, the only ones from the trip, I find that they are completely predictable. They are exactly the kind of mindless photos which fill many people’s Instagram stories: well-known locations, photographed in much the same way as ten million others have — they could be done by a generative AI.

WordPress AI generated this image to the prompt: Distant view of the San Francisco skyline from across the bay, without the Golden Gate bridge, against the sky at sunset.

Industrial societies turn their citizens into image junkies; it is the most irresistible form of mental pollution.

Susan Sontag (On Photography)

I posted my photos to friends and family and I got the usual messages that you expect. This was a clear indication that if I am to improve my skills, I have to give up such facile image-making. I hadn’t realized that Susan Sontag’s critique of photography, from half a century ago, could develop new meaning in today’s context. This makes it a worthwhile book for me to engage with for longer.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

17 comments

  1. First of all – i spent 27 years of my life in Kazakhstan, so now I’m really intrigued to know more about your visit. I haven’t been there for 30 years.
    About traveling without cameras. I found myself enjoying my trips with the only point and shot cameras (one film and one digital) with prime 28mm lens. I call this pseudo-travel photography, because its not about the known popular touristic places, but more about the different culture, traditions and lifestyle in these countries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve posting several times a week about my trip to Kazakhstan for a while now. Do take a look and see what you recognize.

      Yes, if you are travelling only to see people and places, then point and shoot is probably the best. I also try to do a little wildlife photography as I travel, mainly birds, so I feel the lack of a good lens at these times.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved that first quote I.J. as well as your thoughtful post. I often find myself using my phone for images and indeed they are becoming much more capable – but not even close to having a good camera with good lenses. Then again, there’s something to be said for not lugging around the heavy gear. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy great photos but do not consider myself a photographer; I just capture memories. I also found that writing a blog for the past ten plus years has helped me “see” better, perhaps even experience better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I stopped taking pictures entirely for about 10 years. I decided I wanted to be IN life and not behind the lens. Then, one day, I wanted a new camera and pictures. I used to not like my pictures because they looked like postcards. Other people thought that was great but I didn’t. If you can buy it on a postcard for pennies, whey should I be redoing the same picture again? I’ve spend a lot of time trying to find different ways to take pictures that don’t looks as perfect OR as predictable. Sometimes the magic works. Something it really doesn’t. At least when I fail now, I know why and try to learn something from it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your Sontag’s quotes made me think I need to continue reading that book. I started it last summer but never finished it. The photos you posted are beautiful, especially with the soft color palette. Nowadays, I cannot imagine myself traveling without a camera (not counting the one in the phone).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Travelling without a camera was a very interesting experience. Birding without a camera or binoculars was a little bothersome though. Especially since I know that I would have seen substantially more lifers if I had them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank for mentioning Susan Sontags book which sounds very interesting and unbelievable that it still fits, maybe even more than in the past.
    When I do not take photos, I am more relaxed and ready to take in the sights. On the other hand, I tend to forget a visit or an excursion after some years. Photos are very good reminders. Even better than the texts in a diary. Taken together pictures and texts work very well for me.
    I am also advised not to carry more than 5 kilos – a real challenge with travel luggage. Walking the Camino de Santiago I learned to cut down on luggage, so I only take very limited clothing and small travel size toiletries. But there are some items I absolutely have to pack, i.e. for medical reasons. Usually, I end up with 6.5 kilos which I lift very carefully or ask for help. My camera with 2 small lenses is not very heavy and goes into my day back. On the Camino I used the Panasonic Lumix TZ 101 which fits into a trousers pocket and takes rather decent images.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting. I felt quite constrained with 10 kilos of baggage, but not having a camera along was an interesting experiment. I think today a phone camera can stand in for more traditional equipment rather well, if you feel you really need to take photos.

      Like

  7. I once went to Neuschwanstein Castle, and there were hundreds, if not thousands of tourists taking photos. Of the castle, of themselves, of their girlfriend, of their children. Everyone was clamoring for a good spot, a good view, and the pros were even paying attention to where the sun came from.

    Between all of this mayhem, there was one elderly man who had hiked up the hill behind the castle. He just stood there, taking in the view, visibly happy.

    He was the only other guy who was alone, so I observed him for a while. And then I realized why he was so happy: He didn’t have a camera or a phone. He didn’t have to worry about how he or the castle would look. He wasn’t thinking ahead of how and where to share the photo. He was simply content, and he was the only one to fully enjoy that moment.

    Before I had my blog, I didn’t take any photos on my trips. Oddly enough, the memory of some of those trips are more vivid. Maybe because I was living them in real life, not through a lens or a screen that put a distance between me and the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.