Pontocho

Pontocho is a narrow alley running next to the Kamogawa river, between the two bridges Sanjo and Shijo. That’s probably why the name is a portmanteau of Portuguese and Japanese meaning bridge district (Ponto + cho). We had a hotel which was a short walk from Pontocho, so we ended up having every dinner there. I remembered the lane as being more laid back, less crowded than it is now. The featured photo shows the crowds and a lantern with chidori, a white plover, which is the symbol of Pontocho. On the first day as we threaded our way between tourists we saw a geiko (as a geisha is called here) and two maiko (apprentices) walking past us. Taking photos of them is now frowned upon, so we stuck with this new convention.

Before coming to Kyoto I’d checked up that the annual festival of Kamogawa Odori was on after a pandemic break. Unfortunately it was impossible to buy a ticket online. I asked a local tourist agency whether they could get tickets for us, and they told us that it was easy to get tickets on the day of the performance, and we should do it ourselves. We discovered that it was easy if you spent time in a long queue, and we decided to spend that time walking around the sights of Kyoto instead. So, although we passed this 19th century building called the Kaburenjo Theatre several times, we only stared at its pink door instead of stepping in.

It rained every evening except our first one in Kyoto. Later I was really glad that we’d walked up to Shijo and admired the view. Especially interesting was the sight of people sitting on the embankment next to the Kamogawa river, as they must have since the 17th century when it was built, and Pontocho created. This photo also shows the platforms called kawayuka which looked like wonderful places to have dinner. We booked a table at one of them, but since it rained every day after I took this photo, that is something that we’ll have to do the next time we go to Kyoto.

When I looked at my photos again I wondered why I’d taken this particular photo. It certainly looks like a comfortable little bar. But aha! It was meant to be an utilitarian photo. The family booked at table at the restaurant next door, but all the signs were in Japanese. I took this photo to remember the location by. Still, I’m glad I took the photo, because that door is very typical of the traditional houses that line Pontocho.

I went back to the photos I’d taken of Pontocho more than a decade ago when I spent three weeks in Kyoto. I’d stayed a lane away from this lovely alley at its other end, near Sanjo, and had dinner here several times. As you can see if you click on the photos, its look was more traditional then.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

6 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.