Saturday shapes

The western wall of the tomb of Khoja Ahmed Yasawi is covered with the blue glazed bricks famous from the cities of the silk route. They were made by Persian artisans brought to this region by Timur specially for making the bricks. I took a photo of the wonderful abstract shapes. Later I learnt to read the writing: in each of the squares it says Allah. The angular Khufic script is perfect for architectural calligraphy, something I’d not realized when I saw it on paper.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

2 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.