On a knife’s edge

On second thought, that title sounded too dramatic. But I let it stand. After all, a day in a ski resort can be made or broken by the weather. You can call it a delicate balance between fog and snow, or a knife’s edge between bad weather and glorious skiing. We were told that in the in late April the ski resort of Shymbulak near Almaty has great walks with views of the Ile Altau region, the southernmost part of the Tien Shan mountains. So we took the ski lift up to the top, meaning to reach the 3000 meter mark and then set off on an easy jaunt. That was not exactly what happened.

Our car took us to the Medeu sports complex, which is at an altitude of about 1700 meters. That was a climb of about 1000 meters from Almaty. A cable car then took us to the second stage of the climb, which is the main ski resort of Shymbulak. At this station we changed to another cable line which took us to the top elevation of 3200 meters. It had been foggy when we started and the fog only became thicker as we climbed. It was so bad that I picked up the Kazakh word for fog, tuman, by just listening to people around me. At the top it resolved into heavy clouds from which snow was beginning to settle gently. The weather was so cold that the snowflakes were dry. The snow on the ground was dry and powdery, perfect for skiing.

I’d been ready to shoot slopes full of greenery, so I’d started grumbling about the weather as we left, and by the time we reached the top my grumbles had turned into bitter complaints. The Family, on the other hand, was thrilled to bits. She’d never expected weather like this on this trip. I stopped my grumbling once I noticed the delicate texture of the fresh snow: look at the ski tracks in the photo on the left above and you’ll see what I mean. It was exactly this texture that made me buy my first camera. I still find it amazing that frozen water can be so delicate, and so hard to capture in an image. And the second photo shows you what I meant by knife’s edge: the weather so delicately balanced between horrible and beautiful that it depended entirely on your state of mind to call it one way or another.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

17 comments

  1. I’m always surprised by the vast difference in tone when I zoom in and out with any telephoto lens. Could the white balance of your camera also be affecting that shot?

    Whatever the case, I Iove snow (and used to love skiing when I was much younger).

    Also, the first image has blue sky peeping through the cloud cover which might affect the final shot. The photo on the right looks like thicker cloud cover.

    Perhaps that’s merely what I see. The reality might be different.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are right about the content of the shot changing the colour of the snow. That happens all the time; and not just snow but also white walls, white cloth or paper. White is hard to pin down.

      But in this case the entire set of shots in the snow had different casts on the two cameras.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting I.J. Loved the images and see what you mean about the delicacy of the snow. Glad you found you way to appreciating the photo opportunity, which gave you a perfect entry for the week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting thoughts and perceptions – and I like both kind of white here. The delicacy of snow is obvious, and something I love. Dry snow we call powder snow and the more wet snow is not that delicate or beautiful. I am glad you all liked it in the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the photos from both cameras – it’s only seeing them side by side that makes you appreciate the difference. But it may not be just the lenses. I came back from South Africa and found I had a similar problem with photos from two DSLR cameras. I was puzzled until I found that one was set to auto white balance, and the other to 5,500K.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.