One door closes, another opens

I rushed into my departure gate at Mumbai airport thinking that boarding would have started, and found that the flight was slightly delayed. That gave me a few minutes to kill in an area with a wonderful art installation. I’ve written about the carved wooden doors of Gujarat sometime earlier, but I had no photos to share. This installation was full of them.

One of the things I like about older localities in Ahmedabad are the exquisitely carved doors of old havelis. The doors are certainly very attractive, as you can see here, but when you look at the architecture they are embedded in, it is clear that they are there in a supporting role. It is the whole architecture which is the star. Here, in the airport, the doors were extracted out of their settings and shown as beautiful pieces of art. Abstracted from their context, I thought they lost just a bit of life.

Used as an art installation they take on a different role, as desirable pieces. Seeing them here reminded me of a conversation I had recently with someone who was thinking of modernizing an old building in Gujarat and getting the money for it by selling the doors and windows of the house. That is a lot of money, which means that there is a market for these doors. Don’t be surprised if one of these old doors turns up in a corporate office you see, or a hotel you walk into.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

15 comments

  1. I agree; the installation is a wonderful idea, giving a traveler something beautiful to see while killing time. In their own setting, they must also be wonderful, even in support.

    janet

    Like

  2. Not hard to see why these would be in demand; they’re amazing. And really, bless whoever had the idea to do an installation like this – such a good idea! Thanks for sharing these 🙂

    Like

  3. Your brown carved door on the left of your first capture is my favorite – beautiful – I can see a lot of precision work is done here , unless they had a mold …

    Like

  4. That’s a strange phenomenon of human beings. I wonder if day by day the people using these doors noticed them. Where I live (and it’s only marginally comparable) old farm equipment sells for a lot of money and people use it in their yards as art.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.