Leafy ornamental

Even the leafiest ornamental angiosperm hedge must flower sometime. When it does, you can be sure that it’s astronomically spring, no matter what the weather is. So, on a burning hot morning in a garden I came across a hedge which had begun to sprout strange long flowers.

I’m bad at identifying plants. Most people who potter around in gardens are much better than me at naming ornamentals. I can perhaps name a few garden flowers, but when it comes to leafy ornamentals I’m lost. Is this a Pilea or a Hosta? Or something else altogether? The strange flowers were quite as intriguing as the leaves, and I’ll appreciate any help with its identification.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

9 comments

  1. An ornamental flowering is a wonderful moment, indeed! I, too, am very bad with ID of ornamentals but I have come across something similar in a local nursery very recently and I think this is a Sanchezia genus (may be S. speciosa). Do correct me, please, if someone comes with a different and right answer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly my thought, Sir; especially since it is an ornamental which must have gone through a lot of hybridisation. But it is just a conjecture till I can substantiate with proof from literature. Ever since I’ve been delving deeper into taxonomy, reading about varieties and cultivars, I’m happy even to get a genus right. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.