Crimson-backed sunbird + Bird of the Week Invitation XX

Sunbirds are small nectar-feeding birds found in gardens across South Asia, although different species are found in different parts of the subcontinent. In a garden in Lonavala, a hill town outside Mumbai in the Sahyadris, I heard the chik-chik-chik sound of a foraging sunbird and investigated the undergrowth of garden. I saw this male Crimson-backed sunbird (Leptocoma minima), its striking colour compensates for its small size. At under 8 cms, it’s small enough that an unlucky one has been seen to lose a battle with a praying mantis. I imagine that would have been something like a leopard bringing down an ox. I shot off a series of exposures as it turned its head from one side to another, looking for flowers or a tasty spider. The pale belly looked dark and grey in the light, but the bird was otherwise easy to identify. The two sexes cooperate in building a nest and feeding the young, but the incubation is done only by the drab female.


There aren’t many places on WordPress where bird watchers can share posts. If you post any photos of birds this week (starting today and up to next Monday), it would be great if you could leave a link in the comments, or a pingback, for others to follow. You don’t have to post a recent photo, nor do you have to post a photo of the same bird as mine. It would be helpful to give as much information as you can, for example which bird it is, where and when you saw the bird, any behaviour you found interesting, or anything else you wish. You might consider using the tag “Bird of the Week” to help others search for old posts. I hope you’ve had the time to look at what others have added in this week and earlier.

Bird of the Week XIX

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

32 comments

  1. That’s a beautiful bird! I thought I would give your invittion a, uh, shot. Where I’m walking now there aren’t a lot of birds, but there was a magpie family with four fledglings. They have since fledged.

    This is the best I could do with my phone knowing it’s a poor workman who blames his tools.

    Magpies

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know. This part of the Refuge is one I don’t frequent. I’ve only this summer learned how great it is in the morning — no bugs (because no water) and shade. When I “met” them they were almost ready to fly. Their parents hung close. Now the whole family has gone. I got another bird today — a very interesting one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.