An early flowering

Hybrid rhododendrons have found their way into gardens in regions from which the original rhododendron species were taken to England. This one resembles that old cultivar from 1896, Baroness Henry Schroeder. I think it’s only a resemblance, because that one has red splotches on the white base, but this is pink on white. It has been a warm winter in Sikkim, otherwise you wouldn’t see rhodos flowering now.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

6 comments

  1. We have an old rhodo cultivar and the white/pink one looks very much like it. But we don’t even have buds yet, much less flowers. I was hoping they would bloom this year, but after a bit of warm weather at the beginning of March, it turned cold and rainy and has been raining most days of every week. I keep looking and hoping to at least see some buds, but not yet. Maybe next week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.