Sights from Sikkim that stay with us

There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do anything we would all love one another.

Frank Zappa

Every trip is an opportunity to form memories. Our trip through eastern Sikkim was no different. The smells and tastes are hard to share, but the sights are easy. A road trip gives you an opportunity to see and capture landscapes and light that you might miss out on otherwise. It had rained all day, with clouds low over the hills around us. The light was gloomy, but just before we reached our homestay, the warm headlights of the car illuminated a bend in the road and gave us a sight that seemed wonderfully calm.

If music be the food of love, play on.

William Shakespeare

There is nothing as memorable as ordinary people going about their daily lives. One morning we saw a grandfather on a scooter ferrying his grandchildren to school. It was a perfectly ordinary thing, but one of the most pleasant things about traveling is to realize that circumstances may be different, but under that people are the same everywhere. It reminded me of many other grandfathers I’ve seen with their grandchildren.

I often think in music.

Albert Einstein

In this decade there are roads being built across the Himalayas. East to west, everywhere you drive there are fractured landscapes around you. This panorama of fog over the old cloud forest giving way to the broken landscape created by people and machines struck me as a perfect representation of what we saw. The light was low and the photo was dark, and called for a conversion to monochrome.

1: Kahin door jab din dhal jaye
2: All you need is love
3: We will rock you


All photos in this post were taken by The Family; the musical interpretation is mine. This post appears as scheduled while I am travelling. I’ll be connected, but may be slow to look at your comments and posts. I hope you will bear with my delays.

By I. J. Khanewala

I travel on work. When that gets too tiring then I relax by travelling for holidays. The holidays are pretty hectic, so I need to unwind by getting back home. But that means work.

12 comments

  1. I hope you are enjoying your travels. I especially love the grandfather photo. I ride with my grandaughter to her school and wave her a good day. There is a grandfather who drops his granddaughters off at the same time, on foot. And he carries all their stuff for them. A sign of love from him I am sure. Sadly my granddaughter gets to carry her own. lol. All relative and all out of love, as you say. A nice post I.J.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post, I.J. I’ll be listening to your first song as soon as I get a chance, you sparked my interest 🙂 The photos are superb and your words just take everything to a different level.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, I.J.! The photos, as always, are so touching. I love the moody scenes you shared and the special family moments. The quotes you selected are very powerful words to think about and carry with you. Thanks for the thoughts, too. Then, you added the music the photos brought to you mind. I was not familiar with the first, but as I write this, it is playing in the background. Although I do not understand the words, Mukesh’s voice is longing and pleasing. Great song choices and beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.